• of being dashed against the rocks. But he was young, bold, and active,

    and, with the assistance of the beggar's stout piked staff, which he had retained by advice of the proprietor, contrived to bear himself from the face of the precipice, and the yet more hazardous projecting cliffs which varied its surface. Tossed in empty space, like an idle and unsubstantial feather, with a motion that agitated the brain at once with fear and with dizziness, he retained his alertness of exertion and presence of mind; and it was not until he was safely grounded upon the summit of the cliff, that he felt temporary and giddy sickness. As he recovered from a sort of half swoon, he cast his eyes eagerly around. The object which they would most willingly have sought, was already in the act of vanishing. Her white garment was just discernible as she followed on the path which her father had taken. She had lingered till she saw the last of their company rescued from danger, and until she had been assured by the hoarse voice of Mucklebackit, that "the callant had come off wi' unbrizzed banes, and that he was but in a kind of dwam." But Lovel was not aware that she had expressed in his fate even this degree of interest,--which, though nothing more than was due to a stranger who had assisted her in such an hour of peril, he would have gladly purchased by braving even more imminent danger than he had that evening been exposed to. The beggar she had already commanded to come to Knockwinnock that night. He made an excuse.--"Then to-morrow let me see you." The old man promised to obey. Oldbuck thrust something into his hand --Ochiltree looked at it by the torchlight, and returned it--"Na, na! I never tak gowd--besides, Monkbarns, ye wad maybe be rueing it the morn." Then turning to the group of fishermen and peasants--"Now, sirs, wha will gie me a supper and some clean pease-strae?" "I," "and I," "and I," answered many a ready voice. "Aweel, since sae it is, and I can only sleep in ae barn at ance, I'll gae down with Saunders Mucklebackit--he has aye a soup o' something comfortable about his begging--and, bairns, I'll maybe live to put ilka ane o' ye in mind some ither night that ye hae promised me quarters and my awmous;" and away he went with the fisherman. Oldbuck laid the band of strong possession on Lovel--"Deil a stride ye's go to Fairport this night, young man--you must go home with me to Monkbarns. Why, man, you have been a hero--a perfect Sir William Wallace, by all accounts. Come, my good lad, take hold of my arm;--I am not a prime support in such a wind--but Caxon shall help us out--Here, you old idiot, come on the other side of me.--And how the deil got you down to that infernal Bessy's-apron, as they call it? Bess, said they? Why, curse her, she has spread out that vile pennon or banner of womankind, like all the rest of her sex, to allure her votaries to death and headlong ruin." "I have been pretty well accustomed to climbing, and I have long observed fowlers practise that pass down the cliff." "But how, in the name of all that is wonderful, came you to discover the danger of the pettish Baronet and his far more deserving daughter?" "I saw them from the verge of the precipice." "From the verge!--umph--And what possessed you _dumosa pendere procul de rupe?_--though _dumosa_ is not the appropriate epithet--what the deil, man, tempted ye to the verge of the craig?" "Why--I like to see the gathering and growling of a coming storm--or, in your own classical language, Mr. Oldbuck, _suave est mari magno_--and so forth--but here we reach the turn to Fairport. I must wish you good-night." "Not a step, not a pace, not an inch, not a shathmont, as I may say,--the meaning of which word has puzzled many that think themselves antiquaries. I am clear we should read _salmon-length_ for _shathmont's-length._ You are aware that the space allotted for the passage of a salmon through a dam, dike, or weir, by statute, is the length within which a full-grown pig can turn himself round. Now I have a scheme to prove, that, as terrestrial objects were thus appealed to for ascertaining submarine measurement, so it must be supposed that the productions of the water were established as gauges of the extent of land.--Shathmont--salmont --you see the close alliance of the sounds; dropping out two _h_'s, and a _t,_ and assuming an _l,_ makes the whole difference--I wish to heaven no antiquarian derivation had demanded heavier concessions." "But, my dear sir, I really must go home--I am wet to the skin." "Shalt have my night-gown, man, and slippers, and catch the antiquarian fever as men do the plague, by wearing infected garments. Nay, I know what you would be at--you are afraid to put the old bachelor to charges. But is there not the remains of that glorious chicken-pie--which, _meo arbitrio,_ is better cold than hot--and that bottle of my oldest port, out of which the silly brain-sick Baronet (whom I cannot pardon, since he has escaped breaking his neck) had just taken one glass, when his infirm noddle went a wool-gathering after Gamelyn de Guardover?" So saying he dragged Lovel forward, till the Palmer's-port of Monkbarns received them. Never, perhaps, had it admitted two pedestrians more needing rest for Monkbarns's fatigue had been in a degree very contrary to his usual habits, and his more young and robust companion had that evening undergone agitation of mind which had harassed and wearied him even more than his extraordinary exertions of body. CHAPTER NINTH. "Be brave," she cried, "you yet may be our guest,. . . . . . .


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :